Sitting on the Tube Thinking about my Girl

Sitting on the Tube Thinking about my Girl

This is life
This dirty smoke-choked town,
Ugly paint-peeled tumble-down walls,
I love it,
I love the smells
rough ‘n’ ready, giddy,
intoxicating.

This is life
rain soaked Saturday
sodden streets,
buskers playing out of doorways,
saxophone sounds softer through the rain
city sharp days
made rain soft.

This is life
me and you
kissing,
soft-lipped, cold-nosed,
tip-toe kisses,
tip-toe touching,
puddle jumping
doorway to doorway.

This is life
taxi cabs loud with diesel
the wind and rain
umbrella blown days
rain stained streets
broken down old town tramps
ask you for money.

My girl lives in the
tumble-down-town
sounds of jazz,
sounds of the haphazard
upside-down built city,
this is life
crackling firefly,
tinderbox life.

1990

3 Comments

Filed under Poems 1983-1991

3 responses to “Sitting on the Tube Thinking about my Girl

  1. this is life
    crackling firefly,
    tinderbox life.

    yes… yes it is indeed. you know how much this one means to me. good to see yiou enjoying a new space for your wonderful words. 🙂

    Dale

  2. snap crackle pop!
    This one bumps, jumps, sings, croons and bubbles.. all senses firing!
    Great to read you again Si!

    A.Joy

  3. siphilbrook

    Thanks Dale,

    I still love “Tinderbox” more than I can say

    and thanks Amanda “snap crackle pop!” is just right!

    Si

Leave a Reply

